The Thessaloniki Pride office is on the fifth floor of a quiet office building about a 15 minute walk away from Aristotle’s Square. If you look up from the street, you can see a pride flag and colored clothes pins hung from a line in rainbow order decorating the balcony.

On Monday night, there were three people working in the office space. One woman welcomed us and offered us a coke before sitting back down at her table and continuing to type away. I poked my head into the next room, and saw the colorful office space of the person I was interviewing; Apostolis Karabairis, the founding member of Thessaloniki Pride.

My interview took place in the first room. Karabairis sat on the couch in front of me. The other two volunteers sat in the room with us, listening to my questions and occasionally chiming in. The wall behind Karabairis was lined with framed posters from the past five pride parades, the sixth has yet to be framed, and the window on the far wall had a giant rainbow curtain. There were a collection of pamphlets on the table. Isaac’s camera periodically snapped throughout the conversation.

Interviewing still makes me nervous. I think I read over my questions in the cab ride over 20 times. I am constantly worried that I’m not going to do my story justice with the questions I ask or what I choose to quote.

I need to trust that this trip is meant to be a learning experience. I may be one of the more inexperienced students here, but thats okay. I am here to learn. And I should always be striving to learn, regardless of whether or not I’m a beginner.

My interview went very extremely well. I am very excited with where my story is headed and to produce my first reporting piece of this trip.

