This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Everything moves quickly here. My peers are already spread out around the city, conducting interviews and chasing after stories. We have pitched our first story ideas and are working towards deadlines, which haven’t all been set yet.

Yesterday after an afternoon of researching, I went into the city to get dinner with Asia. We found a restaurant by the boardwalk and claimed the table closest to the water. We watched people go by, ate Greek salads, and talked about our weekend plans.

We hadn’t planned on going out after dinner because we were so exhausted from our first day of school, but we ended up on a boat tour of the harbor with a group of friends. The view of the city from the water was amazing. The sun had just gone down and the city was lit up for the night.

Today, both Sophie and I had a hard time waking up. We barely survived the early morning, but made it through thanks to the granola bars I brought from home.

I had time to roam around the campus after class. The American College of Thessaloniki is beautiful, and has an amazing view of the city from the skybridge connecting the high school and college campuses.

This weekend I am hoping to conduct my first interview. We also have plans to visit the old city and a winery. There will never be a shortage of things to do and see in this city, and its a bit overwhelming. I don’t want to miss out on anything.

